Fitness · food for thought · health

Big Butt ≠ Fitness And ≠ Self Love.

The other night I was laying in bed in search of new mobility, yogi, physical therapy, or sports-nutrition blogs on Instagram. An hour later, I found myself 6,578,243 profiles deep in stalking (I know you do it too, don’t judge) and I realized majority of what I saw was…you guessed it: booty.

Big booty, small booty, strong booty, cellulite booty, bubble booty, heart-shaped booty….
Booty booty booty booty ROCKIN’ EVERYWHERE.

I mean, I realized I was looking at so many butts that I found myself lying there actually  questioning if I even had a booty? So like anyone who feels as if they’re lacking bootylicious flare, I decided to show the world Sabrina got back, too, and posted this:

 

But then, I reflected on this and asked myself, “Sab, was that really necessary?” And then I realized…mmm, nope. Nope it wasn’t because…

 

BUTTS ARE NOT AN INDICATOR OF FITNESS.

Look, I understand having pride in your progress, being confident, and/or being comfortable with your “flaws” can all be motivational factors for fellow followers, but if your butt is the sole reason you have those followers, I’m guessing it’s not that motivational anymore.

Social media is a show. People post their highlights, accentuate how impressive, lavish, and fairytale-like they live in order to gain attention, or build a business, and make profit. And using sexuality and showing skin has become too big of a marketing tool from which they can do this. Women, in particular, are extremely vulnerable to this behavior because we’re raised to believe that our bodies and appearance is what will earn us recognition, admiration, and love. It’s no wonder there are so many women out there who solely post B&B (butts & boobs) pictures. But we cannot continue like this.

 

Having a big butt is not a cure for confidence.

People. May I remind you, we literally poop out of our butts?

So then why have we created a culture around them to represent an industry that is obviously so much more than a area on our body that extrudes digested material?

Aforementioned, I also have a fitness account. It allows me to create a world around educational, informational, self-love-balance-and-wellness centered accounts so that I can revolve my fitness journey around a purpose that is meaningful to me. It serves as my true platform of inspiration because they represent the kind of footprint I want to leave on others’ hearts.

On the other hand, I also have a personal account where I still follow plenty of, dare I say, vain accounts – accounts that make you feel bad for not drinking Voss water, wearing Lulu Lemon yoga pants and Nike baseball caps to the gym. I will admit, there are still times I find myself digging into a hole of self pity because I don’t look like the fitstagram girls. I get it, but that’s when I know I’ve been on social media for way too long.

If you’re feeling a stigma around the butt crave, and putting yourself down because you feel like yours lacks something, then it’s not about having a big butt anymore — it becomes a combined issue of self-worth and body image.

You don’t need to follow in the trends of baseball caps, high-waist lulu’s, and crop tops to achieve your goals or to feel worthy enough to be in the weight room. You don’t need to wear gym-shark attire to give your gym session purpose. And you most certainly don’t need to wear NikePro booty shorts to the gym on leg day so you can prove to the world that your squats are paying off.

**Pro tip: Old Navy has just as great of quality, support and, most importantly, price-friendly, yoga pants than Lulu Lemon.**

 

Your fitness journey is meant to be just as unique as your fingerprint

Living a life through fitness is one hell of a journey, but it’s something that progresses through time; it’s an adventure that leads you closer to yourself, its a way to unleash your true potential, live in a full range of mobility without pain, and feel strong. Fitness is fun, and upsetting, and it can suck, but it can also be the best feeling in the entire world.

You will not see or experience that remarkable feeling if you’re constantly critiquing how your physique compares to that of filtered, superficial, and unrealistic versions of ‘perfect’ that you see over the internet. 

You are meant to, and deserve to, follow your own fitness journey; one that’s proud of your accomplishments, one that’s tailored to your individual goals, circumstances, and life.

You, the way you are, is normal. Your imperfections are what make you perfect. You are where you are supposed to be. And you have so much potential – you have so much more to offer this world than a big butt.

 

Focus your attention where it matters

I really encourage you to stay off Instagram, Snapchat, and Twitter. Turn your notifications off, hide the apps in a folder, and set aside no more than 1/2 hour – an hour to scroll through them. Focus on filling your time with things that are important to you. Read more, spend time with friends, explore, write, study, learn a new skill, experiment in the kitchen, volunteer, do anything else that will add more value to your life.

Do this for at least a month, and I guarantee you will start to look at the world, your goals, and your life very differently.

 

Tying it up

I simply want to reiterate that your fitness journey should be subject to your standards. If you want to build a booty, so be it! But please, please don’t allow filtered images to dictate or alter your lifelong happiness, the health of your metabolism, how you feel about your body, and/or how you go about your goals.

Instead of going in pursuit of the [temporary] trends: stay consistent, try new things, focus on developing your personal strengths and loving yourself; learn as much as you possibly can, fall down often and keep getting back up; figure out your passions and share your gifts with the world.

I promise you will find so much more fulfillment, happiness, and self-worth in this than you ever find through hours spent in the gym trying to build a big butt.

AND GOSH DARNNIT, WHATEVER YOU DO: KEEP SMILING.

I digress…having a big booty is not an indicator of how fit you are, and it will not help you find your self worth. But having a healthy mind, a healthy relationship with food, and living happily and comfortably in your own skin? That sounds pretty fit to me.

Have a great weekend lovely people!

 

XO,
Sab❤️

 

 

Leave a Reply

