Dinner · Fitness · Happy Life · health · Lunch · whole 30

Da Bombest Turkey Burgers EVAH!! {Quick & Simple College Meal Prep}

Howdyyyyyyyyyy!

Mmm, just kidding. That didn’t feel right…

HELLO!

Much better…

Welcome, welcome!! I’m sure you clicked here because you’re ready for a deliciously simple, and quick recipe for turkey burgers! And guess what? I’M GONNA GIVE IT TO YA.

Just a heads up, the background will be slightly different today because these babies were made in the community kitchen of my building (yes, I have to share my dojo with the rest of the building…perks of being a Freshmen RA, ayeee! I’m totally kidding, I love my job and I’m very thankful we even have a kitchen to share!!)

I will, however, add…I AM SO PUMPED BECAUSE:
1. 5 weeks left of school
2. I just bought the prettiest flower plate & it gives me all the happy feels
3. THESE TURKEY BURGERS ARE JUST SO. DARN. YUMMY. So without further ado…

 


Da Best Burgers EVAH!


 

Ingredients:

  • 1 package extra lean ground turkey (99:1)
  • 1 package lean ground turkey (93:7)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 of medium-large sweet onion
  • 1 medium-large bell peppers (your choice of colors; I used 1/2 yellow, 1/4 orange, & 1/4 red)
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley
  • 1 handful of baby carrots, diced small (I don’t measure so approx. 1/2 cup diced baby carrots?)
  • 1 tsp of the following spices: garlic powder, onion powder, Cajun, cayenne, paprika, Bragg’s herbs & spice seasoning, salt & pepper
  • A few teaspoons EVOO (extra virgin olive oil)

 

If you don’t own Bragg’s spice, you can substitute it with Mrs. Dash original blend or chicken blend!

Directions:

  1. Place all prepped ingredients into larger mixing bowl, except the olive oil.
  2. Mix with your hand until everything is evenly incorporated.
  3. Make balls. Place balls onto some type of surface and lightly press down on them to make patties. Some carrots, onions, or peppers may fall off the sides so just press them back into the patty.
  4. Over medium heat, lightly cover pan in EVOO
  5. Once heated, place your burgers on the pan and cook for a few minutes until browned.
  6. Flip.
  7. Allow burgers to rest on a plate and cover with foil to keep the heat incubated. This will allow for even juicier burgers.
  8. Once rested, they’re ready to be eaten!


The Break Down

My recipe yielded 14 burgers total
(AKA: 2 burgers per day for one week…that’s pretty freaking awesome when you’re in college and don’t have time to prep every 3-4 days!)

Macros [roughly] for 1 burger:
Calories: 125
Proteins: 14 g
Carbs: 2.5 g
Fats: 6 g

For 2 burgers that’s:
250 cals; 28 g protein; 5 g carbs; 12 g fat

Talk about volume, filling, and satiating!

As a side, I never go without my sweet potatoes. I make these babies every week…never get sick of them either. This week I actually cut a few into “fries” and sprinkled them with Cajun…omg. O. M. G. To die for. Paired with my stir fry…I couldn’t ask for anything better. Maybe next week I’ll show you guys how I make my weekly stir fry! Enjoyyyyyyy ♥

*My fries are not burnt, they’re crispy. The lighting made them darker than they actually are…lol*
*Also, be careful….they’re extremely addictive.*

It might look kind of empty but that’s because I couldn’t stop eating them when I was making the burgers… 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

