Happy Life · health

The Big 5 for the Big 20!

So today…I am 20 years old!! Yessssssss yes, I’m truly blessed to have reached this far…I mean, I am 1/5 of a century old! That’s madness. Seriously.
How does the time pass by so fast?! I honestly remember the feeling of turning the big Sweet 16… and then I was turning the big Legalized 18…and now I’m 20???
Lord have mercy, I’m going to be 50 before I know it!

I’m just kidding…let’s not think about that. ;P

I have no birthday wishes except to keep up on the road that I’m on. I am just so eternally thankful for everything in my life. I have been granted amazing opportunities in my education, my family and friends encourage and inspire me every day, and they love my craziness unconditionally (couldn’t ask for a better support system), I’m healthy and never been happier with who I am, and what I’ve accomplished; I’m more than ready to take on and conquer new challenges, and I can’t wait to see what this next year has in store for me!

Birthday gym selfies…I couldn’t not take them.

 

Although I am so very excited to finally have stepped out of my teenage years, I know that with stepping into the 20’s age-realm comes a bunch of the biggest experiences/rollercoaster-situations/memories/obstacles/WTF-Do-I-Do-With-My-Life?!?!-moments/etc. that I’ll probably ever face buuuuut I’m still really looking forward to the next decade of my life and what it has in store for me! So in the mean time, I’ve created a list of The Big 5 that I plan to stick to as the years go by…as should you if you’re 20 or in your twenties! 🙂

 

1.  Say YES to everything, even if you’re unsure. You will figure it out along the way.

Image result for say yes

What’s the worst that could happen?! You learn something new? You make new friends? Maybe meet a special friend? You get offered a great opportunity? You make wonderful memories? Nothing you do will ever be worthless/useless, so just take those chances and make the most of them.

 

2. Find your niche. Surround yourself with a community that empowers you to be your best.

Image result for your vibe attracts your tribe

Your vibe attracts your tribe. Stay true to what you love and find people who love that too. There’s nothing stronger than a community with the same passions and interests. You will only rise by lifting others – that’s exactly what happens when you plant yourself in a healthy community. So be a little vulnerable, find it, nurture those relationships, and enjoy

 

3. Believe in yourself and your abilities.

Besides your support group (friends, family, peers, and really nice strangers), you only have yourself to take you where you want to go. Be confident in yourself and the things you can achieve. Because if you’re not, no one else will be.

 

4. Step out of your comfort zone often.

Image result for step out of your comfort zone

Vulnerability = Growth. Brené Brown taught me this, and it’s one of the most important lessons I’ve ever learned. It will make all the difference, I’m telling you! Say hello to everyone, ask to buy coffee for someone you really wish to share your thoughts and ideas with, don’t be afraid to take risks, go after what you want in full force (no half-assing here), and be your true authentic self, unapologetically.

5. March to the beat of your own drum.

Image result for march to the beat of your own drum
Or lead your own parade!

Life, as we all know, is different for everyone; yet, people still compare themselves to others, and that’s detrimental to your own growth. What I can pick up very quickly, may take someone else a longer time; what my best friend calls too much stress, I call easy; my priorities at the gym may not be to have a ripped physique, so why should I feel bad standing next to the girl with shredded abs? Exactly, I shouldn’t…which is my point. We all live separate lives, have separate goals, and will inevitably have separate outcomes so stop comparing; march to the beat of your own drum; go at your own pace, and enjoy every single second of the journey because that’s what will prove to be more valuable than the prize at the end of the finish line.

 

XOXO,
Sab♥

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

