Uncategorized

Happy New Year!! I started mine off right–WITH MY NEW WAFFLE MAKER

Happy Saturday evening my friends…how are y’all doing tonight?

It is the 3rd day into the New Year of 2015…another year to start fresh with new resolutions, special events to look forward to, and of course, the simplicity of being alive to see another year in our crazy, chaotic, yet spectacularly amazing world.

So, yes, I spoiled my secret…I decided to start my new year off with my new waffle maker! I have been wanting a waffle maker since early last year…yes, I know what you’re thinking: Oh Sabrina, quit exaggerating! But I swear, since the beginning of spring I knew I wanted one, but my desire finally grew into a need, and so, as a late Christmas gift to myself, I bought my own Belgium waffle maker. And may I add…BEST INVESTMENT I’VE EVER MADE. I LOVE IT.

 /home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d11/53876583/files/2015/01/img_0554.jpgHamilton Beach Belgium Waffle Maker

 (This picture is prettier than mine, so…)

Because I’m still learning the basics to waffle making, I did some research and found a GREAT recipe from this awesome blog my mom introduced me to: 12MinuteAthlete.com

It’s intense, informative, motivational, and beastly (I mean that in the greatest way possible). There are so many intense workouts, awesome recipes, valid information, and interesting blog posts by an inspiring and strong woman, Krista. It’s definitely worth the check-out…but back to the waffles.

Her recipe promised me crispy, fluffy, delicious waffles…and boy, she did not disappoint. It definitely delivered the satisfying sweet, crisp breakfast I was craving, so here, give it a whirl! (And if you don’t have a waffle maker yet, I ordered mine off Groupon for about $42. My favorite part about it is that it has removable grids–making clean-up so much more convenient–and a little platter below, in case extra batter seeps over the sides–also making clean-up easier. Let me tell ya, if the clean-up is easier, you can’t go wrong; and that is a fact.)

(Click here if you wish to see the recipe on her website. Or mine, beneath the picture!)

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d11/53876583/files/2015/01/img_0537.jpgHigh Protein Flax Waffles

-1/2 cup lowfat cottage cheese

-1/4 cup protein powder of your choice (she recommends vanilla, I used cookies and cream)

-1 tsp vanilla extract (i didn’t use this, but if you use vanilla protein, go with it)

-1/2 cup old fashioned oats

-3/4 cup egg whites

-1 tbls ground flaxseeds

Directions:

Make sure you preheat your waffle maker prior to laying in the batter.

Simply blend all ingredients very fine. If you can, blend until the cottage cheese clumps are gone.

Spray your waffle griddle, pour in the batter, and cook for about 5-7 minutes depending on your preferred level of crispness (the crispier the better; that’s my motto).

Then, simply top with your favorite toppings! And don’t you dare forget whip cream…whip cream is always essential, always.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d11/53876583/files/2015/01/img_0538.jpg

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

