Uncategorized

My Number One Go-To Website & My Favorite Dessert: Blondie-Brownies!

Gooooooooooood Sunday Funday Morning!

As we all know, physical activity, whether it’s weight lifting, swimming, Pilates, Zumba, powerlifting, or simply walking, it’s very important and definitely essential to everyone’s and anyone’s health. Additionally, there’s good form and bad form when performing these exercises. Without good form, we can risk causing injuries if we’re confused on how we’re moving our body.

But to make things a bit more complex, breathing is also a very important factor in exercise.

For example, when lifting weights, proper breathing techniques ensures that our body is circulating blood to the muscles. It makes sure that our muscles are oxygenated and removing waste products. The most effective way to breath while resistance training is to inhale while you lower the weight and exhale as you lift the weight. If you are used to holding your breath while lifting, a rapid and dramatic increase in blood pressure can occur. This type of technique while lifting is called the Valsalva Maneuver. The Valsalva Maneuver can cause intrabdominal pressure which can lead to hernias, as well as loss of consciousness and other problems in weakened areas in the vascular system.

In other exercises, like running, cycling, or yoga, breathing is just as important to keep in mind for the most effective results. To read about those types of breathing techniques you can click here.

That link will send you to my favorite fitness website: Greatist.com

Here you can find literally everything…recipes, workouts, fun fitness topics, new and approved fitness trends and foods in the industry (for example, gluten free-chickpea noodles–I have yet to get my hands on that!), and more!

I am subscribed to the website so whenever new things are posted, I get to see it ASAP! So I highly recommend checking it out! Do itttttttt…Just do it. ✔ ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Another thing I wanted to throw out there is the importance of relaxing. Everyone loves to relax but do we ever make it a priority to do so? Relaxing is just as important as is physical activity, its essential because it can help relieve stress. Whatever it may be that is stressing you out, relaxing is just about the only way to relieve it. Just to take time to clear your mind, let your nerves rest, enjoy a moment of just nothing. There are so many ways to relax too! Just like you can make physical activity enjoyable to your preference, you can do just the same with relaxing! Here’s another link to 40 Ways to Relax in 5 Minutes! (that I found off Greatist!)

My way of relaxing is right now…currently, I am siting on my couch, in front of the Food Network, wrapped in a blanket, on my laptop, with a nice hearty cup of chocolate steel cut oats topped with bananas and strawberries…one of my favorite ways to relax (next to having a book instead of a laptop). So you can say I’m fairly comfortable and satisfied and just content with everything. I enjoy my Sundays because this is my big Relaxation Day. Every other day I find time in the evening to read a book, or sit down and enjoy my leftover macros which I use almost always toward a dessert.

Speaking of dessert…wanna know my favorite? The unhealthy one…warm chocolate chip cookie pizza topped with cold vanilla/caramel ice cream, topped with a delightful whip cream swirl…ahhh I’m drooling already. BUT I choose not to fit that into my macros everyday because…well…one serving would take up about two meals, and I’m not okay with that. SO I found a better solution! And don’t knock it till you try it. I was skeptical at first too, but after I tried it, I’ll probably never go back…drum roll please for my

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d11/53876583/files/2014/12/img_0459.jpg

CHICKPEA BLONDIES!

This recipe is moist on the inside with a great little crispy bite on the outside. The texture is amazing, it’s sweet and tastes fairly similar to an actual chocolate chip cookie pizza!

-1 container of chickpeas or garbanzo beans (rinsed)

-1 cup old fashion oats

-2 tbls Agave

-1 1/2 tbls stevia (powder form)

-2 tsp vanilla extract

-3 tbls canola oil

-1/4 cup of applesauce

-1/2 tsp baking powder

-1/2 tsp baking soda

-1/2 cup of chocolate chips or white chocolate chips (your choice)

Method:

1.)Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2.) Mix all the ingredients in a blender, except the chocolate chips.

3.) Once all ingredients are well blended, fold in the chocolate chips.

4.) On a rounding baking platter or small square dish, spray with Pam and spread out your “cookie dough” mixture evenly throughout said dish.

5.) Cook in oven for about 30-35 minutes.

6.) Let cool for about 10 minutes, add your choice of ice cream (I enjoy Arctic Zero) and a nice swirl of low fat/fat free whip cream and watch your tastebuds soar happily to heaven.

Happy Relaxing!

 

Leave a Reply

