Uncategorized

Merry Christmas My Jolly-Fit Fam! (Cookie Dough Oats Recipe Included!!)

MERRY CHRISTMAS FROM THE GRANDKIDS!!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d11/53876583/files/2014/12/img_0401.jpg

I hope everyone enjoyed their little holiday with good food, happy families, and great friends!

Emphasis on the food..I know I had a great time enjoying the pierogi my grandma and I make every year! Last Sunday my grandma and I took the whole day to make homemade pierogi, from scratch…we made słodki ser, kapusta, and mięso [sweet cheese, sauerkraut and mushroom, and meat! I wanted to get my Babcia in, but she refused to take pictures…no paparazzi please!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d11/53876583/files/2014/12/img_0307.jpg

 

Then I had a wonderful surprise visit from my little helper elves! 

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d11/53876583/files/2014/12/img_0449.jpg

Until the elves began to fight…

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d11/53876583/files/2014/12/img_0452.jpg/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d11/53876583/files/2014/12/img_0453.jpg

So then I gave them a pierog and they relaxed…except one elf…can you tell which one?

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d11/53876583/files/2014/12/img_0309.jpg

And then…I continued to cook peacefully.

Unfortunately I forgot to take the ending-result picture of all the cooked pierogi…it wouldn’t have done much justice anyway since we all were eating a couple…(and by “all” I mean, myself, the elves, my uncles, my grandpa, my mom, my brother, and my grandma) I mean we needed to taste-test them and agree they were good, right? Right. Which they were…very good…very very.

Oh my gosh, then the next morning my mom wanted to make MORE pierogi! (I thought I was in heaven.) This was our ending result…with the exception of like 4 or 5…

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d11/53876583/files/2014/12/img_0312.jpg

Moving on…

So, then a couple of busy, last minute Christmas shopping days passed and just like that…it was Christmas Eve! YESSSSS. TIME TO EAT. And celebrate Jesus’ birth! WOO! These are a couple of my favorite dishes…

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d11/53876583/files/2014/12/img_0450.jpg

Pierogi…obviously.

And Greek fish! 

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d11/53876583/files/2014/12/img_0451.jpg

Christmas Day, we went to church…opened gifts from Santa (THANKS AGAIN SANTA!) and back to grandmas for brunch we went…more pierogi! WOO!

Well, by the end of the day I was a pierog myself SOOO, I enjoyed my last slice of cake and back to the grind I’ve been! Post Christmas Day I had an intense leg-day session. Today I shall have an intense arm day session with 20 minutes of HIIT, so to fuel my workout this morning I enjoyed some Cookie Dough Steel Cut Oats…which was delicious but well…not very pretty…so I’ll get a picture of that another time, but for now…I’ll give you the recipe to enjoy too 🙂

Cookie Dough Steel Cut Oats

First, we shall make the oats…steel cut oats take a bit longer to make then Old Fashion or Instant Oats so in a small pot place

-1 cup dry steel cut oats

-4 cups of water

together and bring to a boil. (I usually add a pinch of cinnamon, a pinch of salt, and unsweetened cocoa powder. If you usually add protein powder to your oatmeal, don’t add stevia; however, if you don’t use protein powder, feel free to add a packet or a few drops to add a bit of sweetness.)

Once it reaches a boil, turn of the burner stir and let sit for about a half hour to let it cool. You can leave the top slightly off so a little bit of heat can escape. Once the oats soak up all the water, it should be a thick consistency. If this is not how you like your oats, add more water to the pot. Oats like to soak in as much water as they can so about 1/2 – 1 cup more will do.

Now on to the toppings…

-1/2 Cookie Dough Quest bar

-1/2 scoop of Cookies and Cream Protein Powder (I use Muscle Pharm)

-6 tbls of liquid egg whites (scrambled)

-1/2 banana (or your choice of another fruit..or don’t use fruit. Whatever your little heart desires!

Mix it all together and there you are! A warm cookie dough chunky oat meal! If you have any suggestions, critiques, or comments, please don’t be afraid to tell me! 🙂

Have a great day everyone!

Leave a Reply

