Uncategorized

Leg Day + Homemade Pizza = Best Day Ever (Dough and Sauce Recipe Included!)

Happy Friday wonderful people!!

I most definitely had a Happy Friday because 1.) I had a kick-butt leg day workout with my girls! And 2.) I made the homemade pizza I’ve been craving OHsooo badly! And boy was it AWESOME-SAUCE. Oooo! Speaking of sauce, I have that delicious recipe for you, as well as DA BOMBEST pizza crust evaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!

(If you haven’t already guessed, I’m struggling for a rewind button to be invented…but until then, I think I’ll just settle for Friday-Pizza Nights..yeah, that sounds good to me.)

Anyway, let me introduce you to my girls. That beautiful Polish-Mongolian, in the red shirt, is my good friend Nara! And to the right, that gorgeous Polish brunette…that’s my other good friend, Dorothy! (Yes, like the Dorothy who walks down the yellow brick road with shiny red heels…but today she left those at home and replaced them with some Nike’s.)

 

 

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d11/53876583/files/2014/12/img_0296.jpg

Oh and that chick in the middle? Das Coach Rodriguez! (Incase you didn’t already know!)

Unfortunately, Dorothy couldn’t stick around for our delightful Homemade- Completely Made from Scratch- Pizza…But aye, no problemo! More for us, right? (Shhh…don’t tell Dorothy I said that…she might click her heels, show up in my house and steal the last piece!)

So would you like to see Nara’s and Sabrina’s Homemade Pizza? Don’t drool too much…
/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d11/53876583/files/2014/12/img_0297.jpg

 

See the chicken and the cheese? The precision in their pose? (Between you and me, they pose better than Victoria Secret Models…am I right, or am I right? I’ll let your drool speak for itself…)

 

So Nara and I came home, hungry and ready to eat. We had some post workout salads and baked chicken to hold us over..then got right to work about 2 hours later! (Mind you, there’s quite a bit of work and effort needed to make pizza from scratch so make sure you prepare accordingly (ingredients, oven, and obviously tastebuds–those will definitely need to be prepared for this)

First, Nara did a fantastic job chopping up our fresh veggies: onions, peppers, mushrooms, and spinach. As she got to work on that, I started on the whole wheat pizza dough! It was just as the description said it would be: soft and chewy on the inside, nice and crisp on the outside. But first, I recommend making the sauce first. By enabling them to sit, they’ll incorporate themselves together to create a more enhanced flavor.

So here’s that recipe for ya right here:

Easy-Peasy Rodri-Pizza Sauce:

-1 can diced Tomatoes

-about 1 1/2 – 2 tbls of tomato paste

-1 tsp oregano

-1 tsp italian seasoning

-1 tsp salt

-1/2 tsp black pepper

-2 tbls chopped cilantro

-2tbls chopped parsley

– 2-4 drops liquid stevia (no more than 4!!)

-1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

Directions: Mix in blender ’till well blended! And that’s it. Set it aside and move on to your dough!

Here is the link to the website itself that way you have the ingredients and instructions all in one: Whole Wheat Pizza Dough Recipe 

 

Now that that’s all done..I actually have a pizza stone platter to place in the oven as well as a big pizza spatula so that made things a bit easier. But if you don’t have that I would just use a regular cookie platter and just make your pizza shape fit accordingly! (We made one circle and one rectangle :p )

Place your oven on the highest temperature it can go. Once it’s ready, after preparing your dough, place it in the oven for about 5-10 minutes. If it seems too hard, but its just starting to brown, you’re doing it right. We had a little heart attack about it at first, but as long as it’s not burnt, have no fear, it will come out amazingggg!

Once it comes out, top it with your veggies and meats and cheese, and plop it right back in for about the same amount of time.

Next, take it out, and honestly, don’t wait for it to cool down. Your senses are being tortured enough. The looks, the smells, and imagined taste…ugh. That can be stressful. Just dig in. You’ll thank me later…even if your tongue gets burnt. Enjoy it, make it again next weekend, share it with friends and family, or don’t…more for you 😉

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d11/53876583/files/2014/12/img_0301.jpgHere was my slice, but you know damn well that wasn’t the only one I ate…there’s about 3 more where that came from…and some. 

Come back for more tomorrow…Mama Rodriguez made some Dutch babies, Oatmeal Raisin cookies, and PB-Nutella Sushi…yeah, I said sushi. You’ll see. You’ll discover. You’ll love. See you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

