Breakfast Recipes

Can’t Let Go of Summer, but I’m Falling into Autumn – Oats

So yesterday, I tried to come up with the best combination flavor for oats (or actually, the best combination for anything) which was coconut peanut butter…ABSOLUTELY LOVE THAT STUFF. But ugh, I was so upset when the flavor didn’t turn out the way I wanted it too. And the worst part was that I added the coconut peanut butter to my oats with so much enthusiasm, hoping it would enhance my coconut peanut butter oats, only to be disappointed to waste a perfect tablespoon 1/2 of peanut butter (about 160 calories) that I could not even taste!!! I COULD’VE EATEN IT ON A SPOON AND I WOULD HAVE ENJOYED THOSE CALORIES SO MUCH MORE. But no. I couldn’t even taste the beauty of the coconut peanut butter, so there went wasted calories and a wasted breakfast.

Although I was going to try again today, I changed my mind and decided to try something new! (Mostly because I had a rice cake with banana and coconut peanut butter already, so that was my tablespoon 1/2 of peanut butter…) BUT anyway, I’ll get back at it again soon! Anyyyyyway….

So unfortunately, here in Michigan, it seems as though summer is packing it’s bag and saying adios for the season. It’s raining, there’s chills making its way into the air here and there, and the sun barely has a chance to come out anymore because of the stupid clouds.. 😦

None the less, I will not say goodbye just yet!

I want to say hello to fall, just because the food for the fall season is beyond amazing, but the same goes for summer food, and ugh it’s just so much hassle, so I decided to throw the two together!

My pictures aren’t amazing, because I had to constantly try it to find the correct taste I was searching for, but once I finally found it, I had to take a picture just so I could post it for you all! And being the undecided me I am, I couldn’t decide which two…so I posted them all. LOL may I present to youuu…my summery/fall goodness oats!

20130808-082427.jpgSee, I even added more cinnamon to make it prettier-ish for you guys…

20130808-082434.jpgAnd even after the photos were taken, I continued to add more and more cinnamon…I swear, with all the cinnamon I consume in a day, I could probably do a daily round of the cinnamon challenge.

Ingredients:

20 grams Oat bran (1/4 cup)

20 grams Old fashion oats (1/4 cup)

2/3 cup unsweetened coconut milk

2/3 cup unsweetened almond milk

1 tablespoon coconut flour

1/3 cup nonfat greek yogurt

1/3 cup pumpkin puree

1/3 cup blueberries

4-8 drops of liquid toffee stevia

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2-1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

your recommended amount of cinnamon because at this point I would guesstimate that I used about 3 teaspoons maybe? I don’t even know, honestly. LOL.

20130808-082439.jpg

Procedure:

1) Mix the almond milk, and both oats together and place in microwave for 1 minute. Stir and repeat. Start gradually lowering it’s time in the micro. It may take a while for this particular recipe to get a thick consistency but be patient and keep a really good eye on it while it’s in the microwave. Even if it may not be completely thick, don’t allow it to be in there for longer than 4 minutes. Just place the aluminum foil on top and set it in the fridge.

2) And now for the  easy-peasy-lemon-squeezy part…mix in the rest of your ingredients!!

3) Add more cinnamon.

4) Enjoy! ;D

20130808-082444.jpgOh and by the way, some extras that you may consider adding, that would bump this deliciousness up even MORE are:

almond butter,

almonds,

cinnamon raisin peanut butter,

fiber one for extra crunchiness,

or cinnamon roll quest bar. MMMM :DDD

Leave a Reply

