Breakfast Recipes

Marvelous Mug Cake Miracle

 

 

Oh myyyyy gosh! I have been wanting to share this creation with you guys for a week now…forever, I know. xP

Well, I’m sure by now you should be familiar with my favorite combo: banana, blueberries and almond/peanut butter with cinnamon.

 

20130722-080825.jpg

 

 

SOOO, I decided to make a breakfast cake out of it this time! Yaaaay! Moist, soft, sweet and delicious…I know my mouth is watering for some more right now, so let me just get you on your way. 😉

 

For the cake you will need:

1/3 cup old fashion oats

3 tbls 100% real liquid egg whites (You can probably use 1-2 egg whites from a whole egg, but I am not sure how this will work out, considering I usually use the ones from the carton)

12 grams of Cellucor peanut butter marshmallow whey protein powder

1 tbls almond milk

2-3 drops liquid stevia

1/4-1/3 of a ripe banana

 

For the “frosting” layer or topping (whatever you want to call it :p ) :

1/4-1/3 of a ripe banana 

1/2 cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt

4 drops liquid toffee stevia

1 tbls almond milk

1/4 cup blueberries

2 tbls Fiber One original bran dry cereal

1 tbls almond butter

1 tsp cinnamon

 

20130722-080644.jpg

Just a heads up: by no means do you have to use the amount of banana or almond butter I used. You can definitely use the whole banana or add another tablespoon of almond butter! But in my case, I didn’t want to use too much because I had other things to fit into my macros for the day 🙂 Either way, you will be satisfied, promise!

 

 

20130722-080832.jpg

 

Okay so…

1) First you need to combine your oats, protein powder, egg whites, almond milk, stevia, and banana together. I recommend using a fork, because you need to smash the banana.

2) Set that aside for a moment, and mix your cover coating. If you want, you can mix the banana into the yogurt mixture, or you may use it like I did–as decoration! But mix the yogurt, cinnamon, stevia, almond milk together to make a “frosting”.

3) Now set that aside, and grab your cake mixture. Put it in the microwave for 60 seconds and keep a close eye on it. If you have a smaller cup or mug, it may “over flow” so I would recommend a medium – large size mug. I used a small one which is why it came out a bit lopsided and skinny. Lol.

4) When the cake is finished, flip the cup upside down so that the cake may fall onto another plate. Give it a minute to cool down…unless you’re impatient and don’t care if your fingers get a wittle burnt, then cut that beauty into 3 layers. Between each layer divide your almond butter so that you can spread it on the layers. If you have enough to spare, you can add the rest on top. You can also slice your banana in between the layers if you didn’t already use it in the mixture.

5) Now give your mixture one last stir, and distribute it all around your cake! You may have some left over, which you can eat or just keep spreading it on top of your cake!

6) Add your blueberries, dry cereal, and if you still desire some cinnamon, then you can always sprinkle that on top as well! 🙂

 

I devoured my cake with some vanilla caramel tea…it was like the cherry on the cake! 🙂

NOTE: If you enjoy warm, oozy blueberries, you can add the blueberries inside the cake mixture before you put it in the microwave. Next time, that’s exactly what I’m going to do!

 

20130722-080936.jpgHope ya love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

