Breakfast Recipes · Desserts

Babysitting Funnn!

Unfortunately, lately I haven’t had much time to get on here and post all my recipes…mostly because I don’t have time, but also because I can’t remember where the recipes are! There were some that I forgot to write down too, but I have all the pictures! x)

No worries though; I will surely come up with new recipes, or try to remake old ones and hopefully even perfect them for you guys so I can post them and you can try them for yourself!

Anyway, As of the rest of this summer, I am babysitting 4 children, one of which is my own brother…which means, EXPERIMENT TIME!

In one of my previous posts, I showed you a Coconut Raspberry and Chocolate French Toast that I made for my brother…well, my friends, I made 4 more today for all the kids…and they LOVED it!

The kids I babysit for don’t exactly have the healthiest pantries, but have no fear! I still made some what of a healthy version for them, nonetheless!

The youngest–Julia– was the second (after my brother) to try my awesome french toast creation…this is the ingredients  I used.

2 slices of honey wheat bread – I dont remember the brand, but I checked the ingredients label and it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be)

1 tbls nutella

1 tbls peanut butter

1/2 sliced banana

11/2 tsp honey

All I did was spread the nutella on one slice of bread; peanut butter on the other; sliced banana on either bread; and honey drizzled on the other–smooshed them together and cooked them on a pan using a little pit of cooking spray … just to crispy-up the outside and warm up the inside. MMM, now I’m drooling just thinking about it… 😀

photo (31)

Julia enjoying her delicious french toast with chocolate all around her mouth…

Julia fell in love with it and said she wants me to make them every day for her…hahaha! Samantha had one for lunch with just peanut butter, banana and honey…she too, fell in love with this creamy, warm, gooey, oozing dessert. And so did Danny- my brother’s friend. So I’m happy they all love my cooking. :p

Now of course you can substitute the nutella for Dark Chocolate Dreams Peanut Butter  (my favorite!) And you can use almost any other fruit to go with your peanut butter…I just happen to think the banana suits both the spreads just PERRRRR FECTLY.

But wait that isn’t it!

I actually think I made my brother the most ultimate french toast EVER. Like, I made it for him but I was eating it too, even though I JUST had dinner and my stomach was about to explode. It was so good, I just couldn’t stop! x)

Unfortunately, we devoured it so fast, I had no time to take a picture..BUT here is the recipe anyway!

1 heaping spoon of coconut oil

2 slices of whole wheat organic bread (or other healthy whole wheat bread)

1/2 – 3/4 medium banana

1 tbls Dark Chocolate Dreams Peanut Butter

1 tbls Krema Crunchy Peanut Butter (or smooth…but we love crunchy peanut butter :p — you can use any other brand but make sure that you check in the ingredient list that it says, “Roasted peanuts and salt” or just “Roasted peanuts”. Jif is NOT recommended.)

1 tsp Agave

dash of cinnamon (optional– I wanted to use it because I think cinnamon would really top it off, but my brother didn’t use it because he doesn’t like cinnamon…using it or not, it still tasted like heaven.)

Directions:

1. Spread the peanut butter on one slice of bread, and the dark chocolate PB on the other.

2.  Slice your banana into 1/2 centimeter thick pieces. Put a frying pan over a low-medium heat and using just enough coconut oil to cover the pan (about 1/2 tbls) melt the coconut oil on the skillet. Once melted, add in your banana. The banana will not get crispy, so after about a minute on each side, you may add them onto one of the slices of bread.  They will be mushy so make sure your careful when flipping and transitioning them to your bread.

3. Sprinkle your cinnamon (if using any) and drizzle your Agave on top, and close the bread.

4. With HALF the rest of your coconut oil, melt it again on top of the pan. Fry one side. Let it sit there for about a minute to a minute and a half until it reaches your desired crispiness. Before you flip it to the other side, make sure to top your pan again with the remaining coconut oil.

5. VUALA. YOUR HEAVENLY TREAT AWAITS YOU.

To be honest with you, this seems to be more of a dessert when you’re craving something sweet and filling, so I wouldn’t just eat this every morning and call it breakfast…I just make it for the kids because they love it and it’s almost the only thing they will actually eat! I am still working with them to eat their fruits and vegetables which is why I am using real fruit inside the French Toast instead of jam. (It tastes a WHOLE lot fresher and it reaches that perfect amount of sweetness without going over board too.) Also explains why I use Dark Chocolate Dreams instead of Nutella, and Krema peanut butter instead of Jif. They don’t even taste the difference either and they love it just as much!

Leave a Reply

